Higher Education Policy Commission approves new presidents at Marshall, Shepherd and West Liberty universities

–New Commissioner Andrew Payne sworn in–

Charleston, W.Va. – The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission voted unanimously today to grant final approval of three presidential selections – Dr. Jerome Gilbert at Marshall University, Dr. Mary Hendrix at Shepherd University and Dr. Stephen Greiner at West Liberty University.

“It is certainly uncommon to have three presidential searches underway at the same time, but I am pleased that stakeholders across each campus – boards, faculty, students and staff – were fully engaged in the processes,” said Dr. Paul Hill, the Commission’s Chancellor. “As an ex-officio member of the search committees, I would like to thank the board chairs and members for their careful and in-depth work that led us to today. And I thank each interim president – Gary White, Dr. Sylvia Manning, and Dr. John McCullough – for their steady leadership during this critical time.”

In approving their appointments, the Commission granted Chancellor Hill the authority to approve final contracts for the new presidents.

Also during today’s meeting, the Commission welcomed new member Andrew Payne, who was recently appointed by Governor Earl Ray Tomblin. Payne has worked in the financial industry for the past 30 years and was a member of the West Virginia University Board of Governors for nine years, serving three years as Vice Chairman and two years as Chairman.