Higher Education Policy Commission statement on WVU Board of Governors’ vote on WVU Tech

Charleston, W.Va. – Paul L. Hill, Chancellor of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, today released the following statement following approval by the West Virginia University Board of Governors to authorize action to move the WVU Institute of Technology to WVU Beckley by fall 2017. The Policy Commission has a statutory mission to review and vote on program proposals offered by WVU for a new location not presently served by the institution.

Statement from Chancellor Hill

“The Higher Education Policy Commission’s mission is to make higher education decisions in the best interest of West Virginia’s students. This is upheld in West Virginia Code, which requires the Policy Commission to approve new degree programs for regional colleges and universities. For Marshall University and West Virginia University, the Policy Commission’s statutory role is to consider academic programs proposed for new locations they don’t presently serve.

“WVU’s proposal to move WVU Tech and academic programs to Beckley falls within that specific approval authority. I believe the Policy Commission will thoroughly study each academic proposal offered by WVU for its Beckley campus, with a particular focus on any potential statewide impact.

“The vision for public higher education as outlined in State Code includes enhancing education opportunities for the widest range of West Virginians by maintaining geographic access to higher education, while avoiding unnecessary duplication.

“The Higher Education Policy Commission will continue working to sustain that vision by working closely with West Virginia University and established public institutions in Southern West Virginia – with vigilance for the best possible outcomes for the students of West Virginia.”

Related resources

West Virginia Code §18B-1D-3: State vision for public higher education

West Virginia Code §18B-1B-4: Powers and duties of Higher Education Policy Commission

Series 11, Submission of Proposals for Academic Programs and the Monitoring and Discontinuance of Existing Programs