DRAFT MINUTES

HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION

March 10, 2014

I. Call to Order

Chairman Bruce Berry convened a special meeting of the Higher Education Policy Commission at 11:30 AM in the 9th Floor Conference Room at 1018 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia and by conference call. The following Commission members were present: Jenny Allen, Bruce Berry, Kathy Eddy, Michael Farrell, Kay Goodwin, David Hendrickson, John Leon, James Phares and Gary White. Absent: Clarence Pennington.

II. Executive Session under the Authority of WV Code §6-9A-4 to Discuss Personnel Issues

Commissioner Hendrickson moved to go into Executive Session under the authority of West Virginia Code §6-9A-4 to discuss personnel issues. Commissioner Goodwin seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Upon conclusion of the Executive Session, Chairman Berry reported that no final decisions were made or votes taken.

III. Action Items

Commissioner Hendrickson moved approval of the following items:

A. West Virginia University's Amended Presidential Search Procedure

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the amended Presidential Search Procedure for West Virginia University.

B. Presidential Selection and Compensation at West Virginia University

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the selection by the West Virginia University Board of Governors of Dr. E. Gordon Gee as President upon the terms and conditions communicated to it and delegates to the Chancellor the authority to approve a final contract with Dr. Gee as to form.

Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Commissioner Leon voted in opposition. Motion passed.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned	ł.
Bruce L. Berry, Chairman	
Kathy Eddy, Secretary	