MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

January 7, 2020

I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael Farrell convened a special meeting of the Higher Education Policy Commission at 8:30 a.m. in the Ninth Floor Conference Room at 1018 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia, and by conference call. The following Commission members participated by phone: Robert L. Brown, James W. Dailey, Michael J. Farrell, Diane Lewis Jackson, Dale Lowther, Donna L. Schulte, and Andrew A. Payne. Others participating by phone included state college and university representatives. In attendance were Interim Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Confirmation of Presidential Appointment and Approval of Presidential Compensation

Dr. Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Interim Chancellor, provided information regarding the presidential appointment and compensation for Bluefield State College president-elect Robin C. Capehart.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission confirms the appointment of Robin C. Capehart as President of Bluefield State College and approves his compensation as proposed by the Bluefield State College Board of Governors.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Additional Board Action and Comments

There were no additional board action items or comments.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lowther moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Payne seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrel, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary