Minutes

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission Special Meeting

March 20, 2020

Call to Order

Chairman Michael Farrell convened a special meeting of the Higher Education Policy Commission at 11:00 a.m. by conference call. The following Commission members participated: Clayton Burch, Interim State Superintendent of Schools, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey, Michael J. Farrell, Diane Lewis Jackson, Dale Lowther, Donna L. Schulte, and Andrew A. Payne. Others participating included state college and university representatives, Interim Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

Chairman Farrell proceeded to administer the Oath of Office to Mr. Clayton Burch, Interim State Superintendent of Schools, as Ex-Officio member of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission.

Formation of Nominating Committee

II. Chairman Farrell announced the appointments of Commissioners Clayton Burch, Robert Brown, and Dale Lowther as the nominating committee. The Committee will report at the Commission meeting on June 26, 2020.

Approval of Appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors

Chancellor Tucker gave an overview of the proposed appointees to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the

appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors.

Commissioner Lowther seconded the motion. Motion passed.

IV. Approval of Degree Programs

Dr. Corley Dennison, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, gave an overview of the proposed programs for approval.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the following new degree programs:

Bachelor of Science in Surveying and Geomatics Engineering Technology at Fairmont State University;

Master of Education in Educational Leadership at Fairmont State University;

Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice at Shepherd University;

Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology at West Liberty University.

Commissioner Schulte seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Approval of Modification to State Financial Aid Programs

Mr. Brian Weingart, Senior Director of Financial Aid, gave an overview of the proposed program modifications to the State financial aid programs.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves suspension of academic renewal requirements for state financial aid and extension of the West Virginia Higher Education Grant deadline.

Commissioner Schulte seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VI. Approval of Temporary Modification to Requirement of Presidential Search Procedure During Declared State of Emergency

Ms. Kristin Boggs, General Counsel, gave an overview of the proposed temporary modification to the presidential search procedures at Glenville State College, West Liberty University, and West Virginia State University.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the temporary modification of the requirement that the finalist candidates for president be interviewed in-person on campus prior to final selection.

Commissioner Burch seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VII. Additional Board Action and Comments

There were no additional board action items or comments.

VIII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lowther moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Payne seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary