MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

July 23, 2020

I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on July 23, 2020, at 1:30 p.m., by zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther; Donna Schulte, and Andrew A. Payne. Absent were Commissioner Robert L. Brown, Clayton Burch and James W. Dailey. Others participating included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Higher Education Policy Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Temporary Suspension of ACT/SAT Requirements for Undergraduate Admission

Dr. Corley Dennison, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, presented an overview of the proposed approval of temporary suspension of the ACT/SAT requirements for undergraduate admission.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves temporary suspension of Section 4.4 of Series 23, Procedural Rule, Standards and Procedures for Undergraduate Admission at Four-Year Colleges and Universities requiring submission of an ACT/SAT score prior to admission to a West Virginia public college or university.

Commissioner Lowther seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Possible Executive Session under the Authority of West Virginia Code §6-9A-4

The Higher Education Policy Commission did not meet in executive session.

IV. Confirmation of Presidential Appointment and Approval of Presidential Compensation for West Virginia State University

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission confirms the

appointment of Dr. Nicole Pride as President of West Virginia State University and approves her compensation as proposed by the West Virginia State University Board of Governors.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Additional Board Action and Comments

There were no additional board action items or comments.

VI. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Payne moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary

Din La.