MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

August 7, 2020

I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on August 7, 2020, at 9:00 a.m., by zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; and Dale Lowther. Absent were Commissioners Robert L. Brown, Andrew A. Payne, and Donna L. Schulte. Others participating included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Higher Education Policy Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda. The Policy Commission did not hold an executive session.

II. Approval of West Virginia Regional Technology Park Executive Director

Ms. Kristin Boggs, General Counsel, explained the proposed approval of the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Executive Director. Chairman Farrell shared some facts regarding Mr. Ballard's professional career.

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the appointment of Matthew Ballard as Executive Director of the West Virginia Regional Technology Park under the terms and conditions communicated to the Commission.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Additional Board Action and Comments

There were no additional board action items or comments.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell, Chairman

Din Lan.

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary