MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

March 11, 2021

I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on March 11, 2021, at 10:00 a.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Robert Brown, Ex-Officio, James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther, and Andrew A. Payne. Absent were Commissioners Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; and Donna L. Schulte. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Higher Education Policy Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Fiscal Year 2022 Distribution Plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant Program

Ms. Tana Pendell, Financial Aid Manager, gave an overview of the proposed distribution plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant Program for Fiscal Year 2022.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the proposed Fiscal Year 2022 distribution plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant Program

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Approval of Eligibility Requirements, Annual Award Amount, Summer Awards, Modification to National Testing Requirement for the PROMISE Scholarship Program, and Extension of the PROMISE Scholarship Deadline

Ms. Pendell gave an overview of the proposed action for the PROMISE Scholarship Program.

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves proposed eligibility requirements, the annual award amount, summer awards,

modification to national testing requirement for the PROMISE Scholarship Program, and extension of the PROMISE Scholarship deadline.

Commissioner Payne seconded the motion. Motion passed.

IV. Approval of Revisions to Series 64, Legislative Rule, Administrative Exemption

Mr. Matt Turner, Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration, gave an overview of the proposed revisions to Series 64, Legislative Rule, Administrative Exemption.

Commissioner Dailey moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the revisions to Series 64, Legislative Rule, Administrative Exemption, to be filed with the Secretary of State and the Legislative Oversight Commission on Education Accountability for further legislative action.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Approval of Appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors

Dr. Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Chancellor, gave an overview of the proposed appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors.

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VI. Additional Board Action and Comment

There were no additional board action items or comments.

VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Payne moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell, Chairman

____ Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary