MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

March 29, 2021

I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on March 29, 2021, at 1:00 p.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther, and Andrew A. Payne. Absent were Commissioners Robert L. Brown, Ex-Officio; and Donna L. Schulte. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Higher Education Policy Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Debt Refunding and Redemption

Dr. Edward Magee, Vice Chancellor of Finance, gave an overview of the proposed approval of debt refunding and redemption as requested by West Virginia State University.

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, that the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the West Virginia State University debt refunding and redemption transaction as described in the approving resolution.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Additional Board Action and Comment

With a heavy heart, Chancellor Tucker shared news of the unexpected passing of Dr. Scott Beard, Provost and Vice president of Academic Affairs at Shepherd University.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Payne moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

a Michael J. Farrell, Ghairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary

• · · · ·