#### MINUTES

## WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

# December 14, 2020

### I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on December 14, 2020, at 1:00 p.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther, and Donna L. Schulte. Absent were Commissioners Robert Brown, Ex-Officio; and Andrew A. Payne. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Higher Education Policy Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

# II. Confirmation of Presidential Appointment and Approval of Presidential Compensation

Ms. Kristin Boggs, General Counsel, provided an overview of the presidential appointment and contract, as submitted by West Liberty University.

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

*Resolved*, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission confirms the appointment of Dr. W. Franklin Evans as President of West Liberty University and approves his compensation as proposed by the West Liberty University Board of Governors.

Commissioner Schulte seconded the motion. Motion passed.

## VI. Additional Board Action and Comment

There were no additional board action items or comments.

#### VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

10 2 ng Michael J. Farrell, Chairman

U Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary