#### **DRAFT MINUTES**

## WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

#### October 19, 2020

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on October 19, 2020, at 2:00 p.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Robert L. Brown, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther, and Andrew A. Payne. Absent were Commissioners Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; and Donna L. Schulte. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Higher Education Policy Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

### II. Resolution Honoring President Stephen Greiner

Chairman Farrell read a resolution honoring retiring President of West Liberty University, Dr. Stephen Greiner.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the resolution honoring Dr. Stephen Greiner for his outstanding service as President of West Liberty University.

Commissioner Diane Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### III. Institutional Textbook Affordability Report Update

Dr. Corley Dennison, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, gave a brief update of the Institutional Textbook Affordability Report.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission suspends the November 1, 2020, institutional annual textbook report to allow for revision of the procedural rule to incorporate new legislative requirements.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

# IV. Approval of Modification to Standardized National Testing Deadline for the PROMISE Scholarship

Mr. Brian Weingart, Senior Director of Financial Aid, gave an overview of the proposed modification to the standardized national testing deadline for the PROMISE Scholarship.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves extension of the standardized national testing deadline to qualify for the PROMISE Scholarship.

Commissioner Lowther seconded the motion. Motion passed.

# V. Approval to Suspend the Assessment Standards for the Underwood-Smith Teaching Scholars Program

Mr. Weingart gave an overview of the proposed suspension of the assessment standards for the Underwood-Smith Teaching Scholars Program.

Commissioner Dailey moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves suspension of the college-ready assessment standards for the Underwood-Smith Teaching Scholars application process for 2021 cohort.

Commissioner Payne seconded the motion. Motion passed.

### VI. Additional Board Action and Comment

There were no additional board action items or comments.

### VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Dailey moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Lowther seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell, Chairman
Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary