### **DRAFT MINUTES**

## WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

### May 18, 2020

### I. Call to Order

Chairman Michael J. Farrell convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission at 2:00 p.m. by zoom and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Robert Brown, Ex-Officio; Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Dale Lowther; and Andrew A. Payne. Others participating included state college and university representatives, Interim Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker and Commission staff.

Chairman Farrell secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

# II. Approval of License and Work Agreement and Right of Entry Agreement with the City of South Charleston

Ms. Kristin Boggs, General Counsel, provided an overview of the proposed License and Work Agreement and Right of Entry Agreement with the City of South Charleston.

Commissioner Payne moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves execution of the License and Work Agreement and the Right of Entry Agreement with the City of South Charleston and delegates authority to the Chancellor to approve and execute the final documents on behalf of the Commission.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

### III. Approval of Presidential Compensation

General Counsel Boggs gave an overview of the proposed compensation for the interim president of West Virginia State University.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the compensation of Interim President R. Charles Byers as proposed by the West Virginia State University Board of Governors.

Commissioner Lowther seconded the motion. Motion passed.

## IV. Approval of Appointments to the Chancellor Search Committee

Mr. Matthew Turner, Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration, gave an overview of the work of the Chancellor Search Committee and listed its proposed members, as shown below:

Dr. Kendra Boggess, President, Concord University

Mr. Robert L. Brown, Chairman, Community and Technical College Education System

Ms. Jordyn Bryson, Student Representative

Mr. W. Clayton Burch, State Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Lisa Di Bartolomeo, Professor, West Virginia University

Mr. Michael J. Farrell, Chairman, Higher Education Policy Commission

Ms. Diane Lewis Jackson, Member, Higher Education Policy Commission

Dr. Mirta Martin, President, Fairmont State University

Ms. Mary Beth Myers, Representative, Advisory Council of Classified Employees

Mr. Andrew Payne, Member, Higher Education Policy Commission

Commissioner Lowther moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the appointments to the Chancellor Search Committee.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### V. Additional Board Action and Comments

There were no additional board action items or comments.

### VI. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lowther moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Payne seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Michael J. Farrell, Chairman
Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary