#### **MINUTES**

# WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

July 19, 2021

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on July 19, 2021, at 9:00 a.m., by teleconference. The following Commission members participated: Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio; Christina Cameron, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Donna L. Schulte, and Andrew A. Payne. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

Chairman Payne proceeded to administer the Oath of Office to Ms. Christina Cameron, newly elected Chair of the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.

#### II. Approval of Administrative Exemption

Mr. Matthew Turner, Executive Vice Chancellor of Administration, gave an overview of the proposed administrative exemption requested by Fairmont State University.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission grants the exemption designation for Fairmont State University based on the definition of administratively exempted school as defined in W. Va. Code §18B-1-1f(c).

Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### III. Approval of Presidential Compensation

Chancellor Tucker provided an overview of the proposed presidential compensation as requested by Bluefield State College.

Commissioner Dailey moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves compensation for Mr. Robin C. Capehart as President of Bluefield State College as proposed by the institutional board of governors.

Commissioner Schulte seconded the motion. Motion passed.

# IV. Approval of Presidential Compensation

Chancellor Tucker provided an overview of the proposed presidential compensation as requested by Concord University.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves compensation for Dr. Kendra Boggess as President of Concord University as proposed by the institutional board of governors.

Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

## V. Additional Board Action and Comment

There were no other action items or comments.

### VI. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Farrell moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Schulte seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrew A. Payne, Chair

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary