DRAFT MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

January 5, 2022

I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on January 5, 2022, at 2:00 p.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: Christina Cameron, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Andrew A. Payne and Donna L. Schulte. Absent was Commissioner Clayton Burch, Ex-Officio. Other participants included state college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Higher Education Policy Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Presidential Search Procedure

Chancellor Sarah Tucker gave an overview of the proposed presidential search procedure as submitted by West Virginia State University.

Commissioner Farrell moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, that the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the Presidential Search Procedure adopted by the West Virginia State University Board of Governors.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Additional Board Action and Comment

There was no additional Board action or comment.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Farrell moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrew A. Payne, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary