MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

March 8, 2023

I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on March 8, 2023, at 1:30 p.m., by teleconference and Zoom video. The following Commission members participated: Christina Cameron, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Andrew A. Payne, and Donna L. Schulte. Other participants included university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Higher Education Policy Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Eligibility Requirements, Annual Award Amount, Extending Deadline and Summer Awards for the Promise Scholarship Program

Mr. Brian Weingart, Senior Director of Financial Aid, gave an overview of the proposed eligibility requirements, award amount, and extension of deadlines for the Promise Scholarship Program.

Commissioner Cameron moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves proposed eligibility requirements, the annual award amount, extending the deadline and summer awards for the Promise Scholarship Program.

Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Approval of Fiscal Year 2024 Distribution Plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant Program

Director Weingart provided an overview of the proposed Fiscal Year 2024 distribution plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant Program.

Commissioner Farrell moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the proposed Fiscal Year 2024 distribution plan for the West Virginia Higher Education Grant.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

IV. Additional Board Action and Comment

There was no additional Board action or comment.

V. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Farrell moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Cameron seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrew A. Payne, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary