MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

June 28, 2023

I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a special meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (Commission) on June 28, 2023, at 9:30 a.m., by teleconference and Zoom video. The following Commission members participated: Christina Cameron, Ex-Officio, Chair of the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education; James W. Dailey; James Denova; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; and Andrew A. Payne. Other participants included public and private college and university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum and gave a brief overview of the agenda.

II. Approval of Appointments to the West Virginia Regional Park Board of Directors

Chancellor Sarah Tucker presented the following individuals for appointment to the West Virginia Regional Park Board of Directors:

Reappointments ending June 30, 2024

- Rudy Henley
- Ron Pearson

Reappointments ending June 30, 2025

- Anne Cavalier
- Jack Rossi

Reappointments ending June 30, 2026

- Mike Farrell
- Sarah Tucker
- Kevin DiGregorio
- Steve Hedrick

New appointment beginning June 30, 2023 with a term ending June 30, 2025

 Tim O'Neal, Global Director for Operations Information Technology/Operations Technology, Dow

Commissioner Lewis Jackson moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the appointments to the West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors.

Commissioner Dailey seconded the motion. Motion passed.

III. Approval of Presidential Compensation at Fairmont State University

General Counsel Kristin Boggs gave an overview of the proposed compensation for the new president of Fairmont State University.

Commissioner Cameron moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the compensation contract for Dr. Michael Davis as President of Fairmont State University as proposed by the institutional board of governors.

Commissioner Denova seconded the motion. Motion passed.

IV. Approval of Presidential Compensation at Concord University

General Counsel Boggs gave an overview of the proposed compensation for the president of Concord University.

Commissioner Denova moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the compensation contract for Dr. Kendra Boggess as President of Concord University as proposed by the institutional board of governors.

Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Executive Session Under the Authority of W. Va. Code § 6-9A-4 to Discuss Licensure

A. Provisional Reauthorization of Alderson Broaddus University

Executive session was not held. The Commission has asked administrators at Alderson Broaddus University to submit by July 7th additional information for their review before they can act on reauthorization of the institution. The Commission will meet on July 12, 2023.

VI. Additional Board Action and Comment

There was no additional board action or comment.

VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Cameron moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Lewis Jackson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrew A. Payne, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary

Diana Lewis Jackson