MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION

September 15, 2023

I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (Commission) on September 15, 2023, at 9:00 a.m., by Zoom videoconference and conference call. The following Commission members participated: James W. Dailey; James Denova, Michael J. Farrell; Diana Lewis Jackson, Andrew A. Payne; and Gail Pitchford. Other participants included university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, and Commission staff.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum and welcomed all participants to the meeting.

II. Chairman's Report

Chairman Payne thanked Chancellor Tucker and Commission staff for their work to support students.

III. Chancellor's Report

Chancellor Tucker acknowledged the smooth and successful start to the fall semester.

IV. Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Jackson moved to approve the minutes of the June 16, June 28, July 12, and July 31, 2023 Commission meetings. Commissioner Pitchford seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Approval to Repeal Series 46, Procedural Rule, Standards for Subject Area Content in Secondary-Level Teacher Preparation Programs

General Counsel Kristin Boggs explained the need to repeal the rule.

Commissioner Farrell moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the repeal of Series 46, Procedural Rule, Standards for Subject Area Content in Secondary-Level Teacher Preparation Programs and directs its staff to proceed with the Secretary of State's process to effectuate such repeal.

Commissioner Denova seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VI. Additional Board Action and Comment

There were no additional board actions or comments.

VII. Adjournment

Andrew Payne

There being no further business, Commissioner Denova moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VIII.

Andrew A. Payne, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson

IX.

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary