Higher Education Policy Commission names search committee to find West Virginia’s next chancellor

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission today named the members of a search committee to find a successor to current Chancellor Paul L. Hill, who last month announced he will retire.  Hill has served in the role of chancellor since June 2012.

Commission Chairman Michael J. Farrell will lead the search committee, which comprises 12 additional members representing students, faculty, staff and community constituents, as well as members of the Commission and experienced public and private higher education administrators. The Commission has contracted with a search firm to help conduct the national search through recruitment and screening services.

Farrell said Chancellor Hill has agreed to serve in his current capacity until his successor has been named. He said the committee will begin its work immediately and hopes to have a new chancellor in place this fall.

Today’s meeting of the Commission was to confirm the 13-member search committee, whose members are listed below. Farrell said he is pleased with the breadth of experience and knowledge that the committee members bring.

“Selecting our next chancellor is an extremely important task that will help shape the future of West Virginia’s higher education policy and landscape,” Farrell said. “We’ve made amazing strides in recent years toward student success and record numbers of college graduates; however, our challenge to make college more affordable and to construct a highly educated workforce is tremendous and we must take care to choose a leader who will help our state accomplish the lofty goal to double the number of degrees we currently award.”


West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

Chancellor Search Committee 2018

Dr. Jerry Beasley
Former president of Concord University


Mr. Joseph A. Beeson
Member of the Board of Directors, West Virginia Independent Colleges and Universities, and assistant managing member of Robinson & McElwee, PLLC


Dr. Marybeth Beller
Associate professor and director of the Master’s in Public Administration program at Marshall University, and vice chair of the statewide Advisory Council of Faculty


Dr. Sarah Denman
Former provost of Marshall University


Ms. Kathy Eddy
Former member, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and certified public accountant, McDonough, Eddy, Parsons & Baylous, A.C.


Ms. Georgette George
Vice chair, West Virginia Regional Technology Park Board of Directors, and CEO, Monarch Family of Hotels
South Charleston


Mr. Michael Farrell
Chair, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and founding member of Farrell, White & Legg, PLLC


Mr. Thomas A. Heywood
Managing Partner, Bowles Rice
Former chief of staff and general counsel for Gov. Gaston Caperton


Ms. Lisa Moten
Director of the Erma Byrd Higher Education Center


Mr. Drew Payne
Secretary of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission


Ms. Amy Pitzer
Program coordinator senior at Concord University, and chair of the statewide Advisory Council of Classified Employees


Mr. Kevin Sloan
Current student at West Virginia State University


Dr. John Thralls
Former member of the West Virginia State University Board of Governors, and former vice chancellor for administration, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

# # #