Student Affairs

About

The Division of Student Affairs strives to create a statewide culture that promotes educational opportunities for all citizens, regardless of age or income.  The division is dedicated to helping students flourish by empowering them with the tools necessary for postsecondary success and enabling students to tap into their greatest potential.  Students are the priority in the Division of Student Affairs.

The division coordinates several statewide college access and success programs, in addition to the federally funded West Virginia GEAR UP initiative, a program that helps students in ten West Virginia counties prepare to succeed in training and education beyond high school, and College for West Virginia (CFWV). College for West Virginia offers free college- and career-planning resources to help students and families across the state help plan, apply, and pay for education and training beyond high school.

The Division of Student Affairs supports the work of student affairs offices on campuses of West Virginia’s public two- and four-year colleges and universities through professional development and training opportunities, grant funding and collaboration on statewide initiatives.

Additionally, through a joint effort with the Division of Health Sciences, our staff provides support to West Virginia’s two- and four-year colleges and universities in addressing student mental health and emotional well-being.


Contact

304-558-0655 (office)  |  304-558-0658 (fax)  |  1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Charleston, WV

Office suite: Boulevard Tower, 5th floor


Resources

College Access and Student Success Outreach Resources
WV GEAR UP Fact Sheet
CFWV Fact Sheet
Student Affairs Fact Sheet
Archived Reports and Publications


Related Media

News and Commentary
Grant Opportunities
Chancellor's Scholars
West Virginia Advisory Council of Students
West Virginia Student Success Leadership Council


Staff

Elizabeth Manuel

Elizabeth Manuel, Senior Director of Student Services

304-558-0655 ext. 26377
Elizabeth.Manuel@wvhepc.edu


View bio
Cameron

Cameron Asbury, College Access and
Success Program Specialist

304-558-0655 ext. 26401
Cameron.Asbury@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Mallory Carpenter

Mallory Carpenter, College Access and Success Program Director

304-696-3546
Mallory.Carpenter@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Janine Coutu

Janine Coutu, Coordinator of WV GEAR UP College Transition and First Year Programs

304-558-0655 ext. 26402
Janine.Coutu@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Kaci Foster

Kaci Foster, Community Outreach and Engagement Specialist

304-558-0655 ext. 26403
Kaci.Foster@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Jennifer Grossman

Dr. Jennifer Grossman, Coordinator of Research and Evaluation

304-558-0655 ext. 26404
Jennifer.Grossman@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Emily Hammond

Emily Hammond, Assistant Director of Communications and Outreach

304-558-0655
Emily.Hammond@wvhepc.edu
Brandon Hughes

Brandon Hughes, Coordinator of Technology and Digital Outreach

304-558-0655 ext. 26378
Brandon.Hughes@wvhepc.edu

View bio

Jason (JR) Luyster, Assistant Director of West Virginia GEAR UP

304-558-0655 ext. 26379
Jason.Luyster@wvhepc.edu

View bio
Heather McChesney

Heather McChesney, Coordinator of Curriculum, Professional Development, and Education Initiatives

304-558-0655 ext. 26405
Heather.McChesney@wvhepc.edu

View bio

Casey Patterson, College Access and Success Program Director

304-558-0655
Casey.Patterson@wvhepc.edu
Autumn Perry

Autumn Perry, Program Director of Student Services

304-558-0655 ext. 26406
304-249-8083
Autumn.Perry@wvhepc.edu

View bio

Joanne Rutherford, Coordinator of Fiscal and Administrative Services

304-558-0655 ext. 26380
Joanne.Rutherford@wvhepc.edu

View bio